THIS DAY IN HISTORY

28 08 2008

Let me school you all for a minute… on the importance of today August 28! No, it is not my birthday but it is the day the late Martin Luther King Jr. gave on the the most influential speeches in American history. On this day in 1963, he delivered his “I Have a Dream Speech” to thousands crowded in the National Mall located in the District. 
Photobucket 

Now get this, Presidential hopeful, Barack Obama will be giving his Democratic Nomination Acceptance Speech tonight. 

Do you have a dream?

I do! I hope to vote for Barack Obama not based on skin color but on issues that pertain to me. I am voting on who can best help me and well as a broke college student- John McCain isn’t really focused that much on MOI! I really liked Barack’s Education plan compared to McCain…I will post it after the jump!

 

Anyways back to August 28….

TODAY GOES DOWN IN HISTORY AGAIN.

Click here to watch the historic I Have a Dream Speech

Dreams are coming true FINALLY. 

Oh and by no means think that we have come THAT far because honestly we haven’t, but we are still moving and shaking.

Photobucket

Actions

Information

One response

28 08 2008
Clarence

If anyone missed this historical event, then to bad.
First off, to give a speech on the same day as the great Martin Luther King Jr. is an honor within itself. I felt so proud to be me as an American, but mostly proud to be Black. I have never, I mean never, sat in a chair with such posture; shoulders back, head held high, and feet planted firmly in the ground. I was proud! I felt great!
This was our “I Have a Dream Speech” of 2008. Barack Obama is our modern day MLK! For every African American child that was able to understand and comprehend on how big this speech was, i hope they were watching and understood that [we] in the Black community can do anything we set our minds to. This was that light at the end of the tunnel, that door that was opened, or that stone we can step upon. This was and will always be a defining moment in history! This day, this speech, and this movement was the day that Dr. King has wanted for years to come.
Congrats to Obama!

Leave a Reply

