CNN’s Black In America

24 07 2008

First off, I apologize for leaving for such a long time but I have been busy! But now to business!!!!

For those who have yet to see the documentary, then you have missed SOOOOO much.  It was so refreshing to see my alma mater, Booker T. Washington High School and the High School for the Engineering Professions being that it is one of the oldest historically black high schools in the state of Texas. It is sort of hard to watch someone who you knew and see their struggle. I didn’t even know that Brandon had dropped out. We had P.E together and it is different when the story hits directly at home. What happened to cause me to go the direction I am going and not the same path that he is? Why was I blessed with the resources that I have been given? We can ask ourselves all of these questions but the truth is, we honestly CAME HERE TOGETHER! Be it, against our will or voluntarily! We have to rise together. 

Another close spot for me was the section about the Smith family. Just seeing people that you know on TV is wonderful and it is about time that their parents had some credit because they are just such a loving family. I could tell you stories about all of the mom’s at our basketball games but that will be for another time!!! 

Next order of business…

I have read so many Facebook statuses talking about how the program was only scratching the surface and did Black people no justice but a month ago, this wasn’t on TV. You weren’t complaining when we had nothing and now that we have had the opportunity to lift our voices and sing, we want to complain about it. Be for real my brothas and sistas! Networks could easily take it off the air and this is just the beginning. If you want more done, shut the hell up, and do something to change the system! I am sorry if that comes off harsh but I have to keep it real with yall sometimes!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

