Made me mad: Guns in DC

26 06 2008

So I was just and I mean just watching CNN Newsroom with the oh so sexy Don Lemon when they went into the reel for the Supreme Court’s ruling of the District’s ban on gun licensing being unconstitutional. One of the opposed, Justice Stephen Breyer wrote a dissent saying: 

“In my view, there simply is no untouchable constitutional right guaranteed by the Second Amendment to keep loaded handguns in the house in crime-ridden urban areas.”

Supreme Court Justice Stephen Breyer

My mouth dropped at how stupid this man can be and I really don’t care who appointed you to the almighty position of Supreme Court Justice. I do believe in people having their own opinions but “crime-ridden urban areas”! Um, let me give your country club, jaded opinion a reality check. First of all, it seems kind of messed up at how bad education is in Washington D.C. I mean I have read the Constitution. I also know that there is a line in the PREAMBLE that does state promoting the “general Welfare”. If you don’t believe me, here is the Preamble to the United States of America’s Constitution:

We the people of the United States, in Order to form a more perfect Union, establish Justice, insure domestic Tranquility, provide for the common defense, promote the general Welfare, and secure the Blessings of Liberty to ourselves and our Posterity, do ordain and establish this Constitution for the United States of America.

In my opinion, domestic tranquility and general welfare aren’t going to be found in a community that has an illiteracy level the rate of D.C’s. If you don’t know that rate, it is stated the more than one-third of Washington D.C is functionally illiterate. It is baffling that the nation’s pride and joy, the District of Columbia, has such a dirty backyard. I would think that this should be the best place to live but no. The prices are through the roof and people are being kicked out of their communities due to developers charging almost half a million dollars for a one bedroom condo. I have been looking for my first investment property, trust me I know. 

So my question to Justice Breyer is, if it is in the Constitution that we, as in ALL people (now not then) have these certain inalienable rights, would it make it unconstitutional for nothing to be done about it? For example, Washington D.C has a violent crime rate of  1,508.4 per every 1,000 inhabitants (2006 Figures). The population of Washington D.C was around 581,530 at that time. Thanks to the stats by the FBI  which also allows you to compare your state with others. Note that they break down the metropolitan areas versus their more rural areas because of course, less people= less crime(sometimes). This is twice the amount of violent crime in the metropolitan areas of California, a much larger state and home to some of the most dangerous gangs known to America. So I, Self Appointed Justice Britany Elise Rickett, find it unconstitutional that nothing is done to protect the domestic tranquility of Washington D.C. I for one would love to have a place where it can be documented where guns are going and who has them. People are less inclined to sneak around with an unlicensed gun if they are allowed the chance to have them. Gun safety should be taught in schools starting at a young level along with a mandatory training course for all of those interested in obtaining a gun license. You can’t go home with the gun from the store with the license. The gun vendors should also be carefully audited with their inventory and their buyers. The most corrupt people I have ever found are at the highest level in the America class system. Guns don’t kill people- people do. Don’t you dare blame it on an area that you don’t even care about. An unjust law is no law at all right? They will get their guns somewhere and I would prefer that I know instead of being out of the loop. 

People are very angry out here and they have been angry for a long time. Misbehavior is a sign of a lack of attention and a lack of discipline. Maybe we should start taking care of home first and stop sweeping these problems under the rug. The education system is horrible. Jobs require education. If you can’t find the means of paying bills, you are just SOL in the eyes of the majority. I don’t justify crime in any way but I also know that all of the people who I have ever been around that have had opportunities, had turned out not too shabby. I also know of the people who had doors closed on them over and over again, they are either dead, in jail, or apart of the so called “problem”.  It is unconstitutional in every area that isn’t black! I know the rhetoric used by the media to describe the Urban areas and the people that reside in them. I may be 19 and lacking all four wisdom teeth, but I still have the wisdom. 

 

It is human nature to do the opposite of what we are told. Just look at all children growing up. There wouldn’t be a need for a time out. At least now it can be controlled and documented regardless of the area. I do intend to one day get a gun license especially in Washington D.C where if the government won’t protect me, at least I can protect myself. Remember an unjust law is no law at all. So it would be safe to say that a just law not implemented is no law at all. Protect me and I won’t have to protect myself is all I’m saying!

Now back to Don. 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

