The Souls of Black Girls

14 06 2008

So I am currently reading the Souls of Black Folk by W.E.B DuBois and while doing a search, I came across THE SOULS OF BLACK GIRLS. It is a documentary that takes a deeper look at how women of color perceive themselves and examines why they feel they way the feel. Hmmm I HAVE TO SEE THIS ASAP. Just don’t know where to get a copy! I think I just might have to plan a private screening of the film. The documentary is produced by Daphne S. Valerius, a Brooklyn native, who attended St. Johns University in New York where she graduated Magna Cum Laude. The Souls of Black Girls was first born as a project done while she was in undergrad and transformed into her master’s project. Must give props from a future director to a budding one! Good Luck in all of your endeavors! Once I get my hands on this, I will be reviewing it on here asap!

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

15 06 2008
K Wright

When you get your hands on a copy let us know whether you’ve given it a thumbs up or not. I just watched a documentary today called: The Death of Emmitt Till. I wanted my daughter to see it. And if you haven’t seen it already, even if you know the story, I recommend you take a peak at it when you get a chance.

15 06 2008
B

will do! I am about to contact the website to see if I can do a screening at an Self Love/ Decorum seminar that I am doing for the young women in my community! I heard from others that the Death of Emmitt Till was great but have yet to see it. I will put it on my list of things to do! Thanks for the heads up!

Leave a Reply

