Books that should be added to your collection:

11 06 2008

I love to read and the summer is when I get most of my “reading is fundamental” done. I have compiled a list of some really good books that I have read throughout the summers…..

Our Kind of People  by Lawrence Otis Graham – I have family members who were apart of the organizations that were in the book and although others have critiqued the book by saying that the black bourgeoisie are horrible and this book is Exhibit A…..but I can relate to the topics within the book which is why I read it! So take it how you want it!

Souls of Black Folk by W.E.B. DuBois- The first Ph.D black from Harvard University writes about the ailments of African Americans. I will be honest, I am currently reading this one but so far it is good. It amazes me how the same issue plaguing our society back then are still issues now. Hmmm how far have we really come?

In Search of Sisterhood by Paula Giddings- If you are a black woman or a Woman period who needs to be inspired to do more….then this is a must read. Written per request of a Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. National President, Giddings provides in depth knowledge on the women’s movement. 

The Jungle by Upton Sinclair- I read this book my sophomore year in high school and couldn’t put the book down. He describes the pain so vividly and you truly feel like you are in the story. I won’t give away the whole plot but it is about the industrial era, unions, and meat industry. You may not eat sausage for a few weeks after reading though!

The Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad- Being a 1st generation American on my mother’s side and half Polish, I have to give props to a fellow Pole. Everyone goes through the heart of darkness and however you come out is up to you! Apocolypto is also based on this theory. The movie based on the book is also really good too. My favorite line is ” Freakin’ A man!” 

Its Not Easy Being a Bunny by Marilyn Sadler- For the kiddies out there!

The Plague by Albert Camus- An existential masterpiece! Superficially the story is about a Plague and the whole city is shut down but if you scrutinize the book…it also has deeper meaning..The HOLOCAUST! LOVED THIS BOOK!

I will continually add more books to the list when I can remember more books that I have read and loved over the years. I will also update you on contemporary reads and give me critique!

 

 

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

